Hardap gears up for newspaper cup

UNIT … The Hardap region have assem-bled their squad as the battle for Newspaper Cup honours draws near. Photo: Harfa

The Hardap Regional Football Association (Harfa) recently held trials at Mariental to assemble a formidable team for the highly anticipated 2024 Nedbank Namibian News- paper Cup.

The trials on Saturday and Sunday show- cased an impressive array of talent vying for a coveted spot on the team roster.

Among the 35 exceptionally skilled players who participated, only 20 were selected for the team.

Ivan Pieters, a Harfa executive member overseeing the team’s administration, high- lighted that players from grassroots back- grounds, devoid of club affiliations, were actively encouraged to participate. Moreover, returning players from last year’s squad were compelled to defend their positions against the influx of new talent, ensuring a fair and competitive selection process.
Dividing the participants into three groups based on their positions, the selectors closely scrutinised the players’ performances as they competed against one another, he said.

Pieters expressed excitement about the team’s prospects, underscoring the anticipation surrounding their potential performance in the upcoming tournament.

During the trials, spectators were captivated by standout performances, notably from 19-year-old Simandu Laurentius an 15-year-old Martinico Green, whose precocious talents belie their age.

Embarking on his second stint with the regional team at age 19, Denzil Umati exuded confidence and determination. Alongside him, a roster of promising talents, including Godwin Beukes, Joel Gariseb and Stefandro Noabeb, make up a formidable team looking to reclaim success.

The final 23 are as follows:

Goalkeepers: Joel Gariseb (Aranos) and Stefandro Noabeb (Rehoboth).

Defenders: Elvario Nanub (Aranos), Jose Oarum (Mariental), Dangeni Swartbooi (Rehoboth), John Kooper (Gochas), Ronaldino Goagoseb (Rehoboth), Gorgeous Swartbooi (Mariental), Laurentius Simandu (Mariental).

Midfielders: Jordan Beukes (Rehoboth), Godwin Beukes (Rehoboth), Tersius Jantjies (Mariental), Adriano Engelbrecht (Re- hoboth), Denzil van der Byl (Hoaxanas), Llewellon Nanub (Aranos), Martinico Green (Rehoboth), Chris Jager (Gibeon), Denzil Umati (Windhoek), Lurechan Grass (Schlip) and Warne Sacco (Rehoboth).

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!

Latest News