South Africa eye world cup berth at Swakopmund

The SA men’s indoor hockey team. File photo

The South African indoor hockey men are gearing up for an exhilarating challenge as they head to Swakopmund, the venue of their triumphant 2018 African Indoor Cup of Nations victory.

Their mission, at the end of May, is to defend their crown and clinch a fourth consecutive trip to the prestigious FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup.

Fresh from their top 6 finish in the previous Indoor World Cup, held on home soil, the South African team is riding high on momentum. This stellar performance not only marked their highest finish to date but also secured a second African spot at the forthcoming 2025 edition in Croatia, slated for February next year.

With a world ranking of seventh, South Africa have assembled a formidable squad brimming with talent. Spearheading the team is Mustapha Cassiem, hailed as the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup Junior Player of the Year and reigning South African Indoor Hockey Player of the Year.

Cassiem leads a roster that includes several members pivotal in securing the inaugural Kathea Energy Nkosi Cup in December.

Bongumusa Mngoma, recipient of the Indoor Hockey IPT Goalkeeper of the Tournament award, will play a crucial role in the team’s campaign in Namibia.

Mngoma’s exceptional skills have been consistently recognised, having also claimed the same accolade at the 2021 Indoor African Cup of Nations.

Adding to the team’s experience are stalwarts Jethro Eustic and Justin Domleo, both boasting the distinction of being the highest capped players in South African history.

The squad sees the inclusion of rising talents, with Dalpiarro Langford earning his place after a stellar showing at the Spar Indoor Hockey IPT in Cape Town, where he was named Player of the Tournament.

Additionally, Leruo Dithakanyane, Cullin de Jager and Hans Neethling will don South African colours for the first time and are poised to make their mark on the international stage.

Stay tuned to our platforms for forthcoming broadcast details and fixtures, as the South African Indoor Hockey Men embark on their quest for glory at Swakopmund.

South African team: Bongumusa Mngoma (27 caps), Jethro Eustice (50), Cullin De Jager (0), Justin Domleo (59), Dalpiarro Langford (22), Keegan Hezlett (32), Dayaan Cassiem (33), Leruo Dithakanyane (0), Hans Neethling (0), Mustapha Cassiem (33), Idrees Abdulla (5), Nicholas White (6).

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!

Latest News