President appoints new energy council members

Nangolo Mbumba

President Nangolo Mbumba has appointed new members of the National Energy Council for the next three years from 1 February.

The new members received their appointment letters from minister of mines and energy Tom Alweendo yesterday.

According to Alweendo these positions were created to assist the ministry in developing the energy sector.

“Accountability is nothing to fear when you work for the greater good, particularly with a position like yours, which was created with the aim of assisting and developing the energy sector in Namibia,” he said.

The members of the council are made up of the Ministry of Mines and Energy, the Ministry of Industrialisation and Trade, the Ministry of Works and Transport, the Ministry of Finance and Public Enterprises, the Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform, NamPower, the National Training Commission and TransNamib.

As per the governing act, the council’s objective is to advise the minister of mines on matters concerning the supply of energy in Namibia.

The board will be chaired by John Titus, who will be deputised by Michael Humavindu.

The other members of the board are Sam Kadhikwa, Helvi Fillipus, Maria Amakali, Anna Shatika, Zoe Nambahu, and Bertus Eksteen.

The board is tasked with making recommendations to the executive director on the National Energy Fund’s annual budget, as well as recommending amendments to the Petroleum Products and Energy Act or any regulation to be made under the act.

The board is also expected to make recommendations regarding the introduction of or increase in a levy to be imposed on any energy source.

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!

Latest News