Mutorwa is new deputy PM, as Mbumba shuffles Cabinet

NEW APPOINTMENTS … Chief justice Peter Shivute has sworn in new deputy prime minister John Mutorwa, international relations and cooperation minister Peya Mushelenga, minister of information and communication technology Emma Theofelus as well as her deputy Modestus Amutse. The swearing in ceremony took place at State House on Friday afternoon. Photo: Otto Gotlieb.

President Nangolo Mbumba has announced that John Mutorwa is the country’s new deputy prime minister (PM), while remaining the minister of works and transport.

Mutorwa takes over the deputy PM role from Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah, who was sworn in as vice president on Sunday, after the death of president Hage Geingob.

Mbumba also announced at State House on Friday that Peya Mushelenga is taking over as minister of international relations and cooperation from Nandi-Ndaitwah, who had served in two roles in Geingob’s Cabinet.

Mushelenga’s former post as information and communication technology (ICT) minister has been taken over by his former deputy, Emma Theofelus, who becomes the country’s youngest Cabinet minister.

Theofelus will be replaced by Modestus Amutse as deputy minister of the ICT portfolio.

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!