President appoints National Energy Council members

President Nangolo Mbumba has appointed new National Energy Council members for the next three years, effective 1 February.

The new members received their appointment letters on Tuesday from mines and energy minister Tom Alweendo.

According to Alweendo, the positions were created to assist the ministry to develop the energy sector.

“Accountability is nothing to fear when you work for the greater good, particularly with a position like yours which was created with the aim of assisting and developing the energy sector in Namibia,” said Alweendo.

The members of the council are made up of the Ministry of Mines and Energy, Ministry of Industrialisation and Trade, Ministry of Works and Transport, Ministry of Finance and Public Enterprises, Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Land Reform, the NamPower, National Training Commission and TransNamib.

The council’s objective is to advise the minister of mines on matters concerning the supply of energy in Namibia.

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!

Latest News