IPC takes control of Oniipa town

Two councillors representing the Independent Patriots for Change (IPC) were on Tuesday elected as members of the town’s management committee.

The two are Stefanus Kambidi and David Nghifikepunye.

Nghifikepunye was elected as chairperson of the management committee.

This means that IPC now holds significant influence over the affairs of the northern town.

The two will serve in the management committee with Swapo councillor Hileni Iidhogela.

Oniipa Town Council consists of seven councillors, with three spots on the management committee.

The mayor and deputy mayor also serve on the committee in an ex-officio capacity.

Patemoshela Nakanyala, another IPC councillor was re-elected as deputy mayor of the town.

Swapo councillor Jafet Augustus was re-elected as mayor.

Swapo councillors David Kambonde and Selma Namuhuya were elected as ordinary councillors.

The Oniipa Town Council had been without a functioning council since November 2023 due to disagreements among Swapo councillors.

The Namibian is informed that the councillors had a fall-out at a party event last year.

Earlier this year, Armas Amukwiyu, the Swapo regional coordinator for Oshikoto, suspended Augustus for allegedly supporting an opposition party in competition with Swapo

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!

Latest News