Wanderers honour rugby stars

Wanderers’ female winners, from left: Euodia Bassingthwaighte, Sune Wittmann, Daniella Beukes, Daphne Buseko, Janice Beukes (head coach) and Lourencia Rooinasie. Photo: Helge Schütz

Jacques Theron and Euodia Bassingthwaighte won Wanderers Rugby Club’s sportsman and sportswoman of the year awards at the club’s annual prizegiving ceremony on Saturday evening. 

Theron represented the national team at the 2023 Rugby World Cup in France, while Bassingthwaighte was a star player for the women’s team during their league campaign. 

Neither team won any silverware but they all came very close. 

The men’s premier league side reached the final where they lost a nailbiting match 30-29 to arch-rivals Trustco United, while their reserve team were knocked out in the semifinals, losing another thriller 33-31 to Grootfontein II. 

Wanderers’ women were also knocked out in the semifinals, losing another humdinger of a match 23-22 to United. 

The men’s prize winners are as follows:

Forward of the year: Driaan Vorster; back of the year: Danie van der Merwe; most loyal player: Reben Botha; junior player of the year: Niel Holtzhausen; most committed player: Obert Nortje; most consistent player: DJ Holtzhausen; upcoming player of the year: Sheron Rossouw; second team player of the year: Innocent Kakumai; second team most improved: Tareekuye Tjipute; players’ player of the year: Danie van der Merwe; supporter of the year: Zenobia Karuuombe; sportsman of the year: Jacques Theron. 

The women’s prizewinners are as follows:

Junior player of the year: Daphne Buseko; most committed player: Daniella Beukes; upcoming player of the year: Jo-dee van der Byl; sportswoman of the year: Euodia Bassingthwaighte; back of the year: Sune Wittmann; forward of the year: Lourencia Rooinasie. 

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!

Latest News