NDP’s Simasiku replaces Kalaluka at Katima Mulilo

The NDP on Thursday appointed various new leaders at Katima Mulilo to represent the party at local and national level. Photo: Lugeretzia Kooper

The National Democratic Party (NDP) has officially appointed Mukendwa Simasiku to represent it on the Katima Mulilo Town Council.

This follows the party’s decision to recall Watson Kalaluka due to multiple charges of misconduct in July.

Kalaluka has been representing the NDP on the Katima Mulilo Town Council since 2020, before the party recalled him from his position.

This came after he was found guilty of failing to pay a 30% monthly contribution to the party and of allegedly falsely accusing party president Martin Lukato of demanding that the contribution be paid to him directly.

Additionally, Kalaluka has been accused of failing to submit monthly reports, implement party programmes as per the NDP’s manifesto, provide feedback on matters discussed or resolutions taken in council meetings, as well as failing to grow the party.

During a press conference on Thursday, NDP president Martin Lukato said Kalaluka has served the party in the position for almost three years, and it would be now be represented by Simasiku.

“We are here to officially endorse Simasiku, and a letter has been sent to the town council to inform them of our decision to appoint him to replace Kalaluka,” he said.

Lukato then revealed other appointments the party made on a national level, including that Rasboom Mwemba has been appointed as the party spokesperson and national leader assigned to the Zambezi, Kavango West, and Kavango East regions.

Meanwhile, Boster Mautu has been appointed to the Omusati, Ohangwena, Oshana, and Oshikoto regions, and Zita Ndopu and Ruth Shaapopi to the Khomas, Kunene, and Erongo regions.

Alex Linyando and Hoster Sukani have been assigned to the Omaheke, Hardap, and //Kharas regions.

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!

Latest News