Morocco take gold at Cosafa Beach Soccer Champs

Angelo Artur Tomas of Mozambique challenges Read Zahraoui of Morocco during 2023 COSAFA Beach Championship Final Match between Morocco and Mozambique at South Beach Arena on the 23 March 2024. BackpagePix

Guest nation Morocco have claimed the Cosafa Beach Soccer Championship crown after they edged Mozambique 4-3 on penalties following a thrilling 4-4 draw in final played at Durban’s South Beach Arena on Saturday.

Mozambique had been seconds from claiming the win in ordinary time, but a goal from Morocco goalkeeper Yassir Abada to take the game to extra-time and ultimately penalties, where the north African team triumphed.

They had been the top-ranked side coming into the competition, so their victory is no surprise, but they were run close by a superb Mozambique, who could not add to their gold medal won in 2021.

Zouhair Jabbary, Adnan Oubahri and Amine El Kraichly were also on target for Morcco, while Mozambique’s goals were scored by Rachide Simithe, Antonio Namape Jnr and a brace via Angelo Tomas.

Malawi claimed the bronze medal with a thrilling 5-4 victory over guest nation Saudi Arabia, the first non-African team to compete at a Cosafa event.

It was a contest that swung one way and then the other as Malawi eventually came put on top thanks to goals from their inspirational captain Isaac Kajam (two), Oblen Khumbula (two) and Dala Dala. His brace moved Kajam to nine goals for the tournament.

Saudi Arabia fought hard and scored their goals through a brace each for Khaled Al Mowallad and Eslam Sarraj and will go home somewhat satisfied having targeted a place in the semifinals when they arrived in Durban.

Player of the Tournament was won by the outstanding Namape Jnr, who also shared the Golden Boot award with Kajam.

The Golden Glove for best keeper went to Yassir Abada of Morocco, while Malawi took the Fair Play award. – 

Saturday’s results:

Third-Place Play-Off: Malawi 5 (Kajam 2, Khumbula 2, Dala) Saudi Arabia 4 (Al Mowallad 2, Sarraj 2)

Final: Morocco 4 (Jabbary, Oubahri, El Kraichly, Abada) Mozambique 4 (Simithe, Namape Jnr, Tomas 2)

After extra-time, Morocco won 4-3 on penalties.


Matches Played: 16

Goals scored: 116

Biggest victory: Saudi Arabia 1 Mozambique 8 (Semifinals, March 22) Most goals in a game: 15 – Morocco 9 Malawi 6 (Semifinals, March 22)


8 goals – Isaac Kajam (Malawi), Antonio Namape Jnr (Mozambique)

6 – Ramzi Dakman (Saudi Arabia)

5 – Driss Ghannam (Morocco), Rachide Simithe (Mozambique), Ayoub Zahraoui (Morocco)

4 – Dala Dala (Malawi), Jaruph Juma (Tanzania), Adnan Oubahri (Morocco), Angelo Tomas (Mozambique)

3 – Badr El Kraichly (Morocco), Oblen Khumbula (Malawi), Helio Mahota (Mozambique), Paolo Nascimento (Angola), Sandram Ussi (Malawi)

2 – Khaled Al Mowallad (Saudi Arabia), Mubarak Alduoasri (Saudi Arabia), Abdulrahim Bausi (Tanzania), Omar de Fonseca (Angola), Amine El Bidouri (Morocco), Stephen Lajoie (Seychelles), Yuran Malate (Mozambique), Paolo Novela (Mozambique), Eslam Sarraj (Saudi Arabia), Ryan Servina (Seychelles), Joao Tchitungo (Angola)

1 – Yassir Abada (Morocco), Ali Alhamami (Saudi Arabia), Terrence Amade (Seychelles), Mateus António (Angola), Medrick Baptiste (Seychelles), Martin Biliati (Malawi), Sphephelo Cele (South Africa), Ramossete Cumbe (Mozambique), Wilson Francisci (Angola), Eurípedes Francisco (Angola), Goodluck Gama (Tanzania), Abongile Gcuda (South Africa), Phiwokuhle Gumede (South Africa), Zouhair Jabbary (Morocco), Eddie Jamu (Malawi), Thoko Kamanga (Malawi), Arnold Lasten (Malawi),

 Helder Mahumane (Mozambique), Julio Manjate (Mozambique), Ntuthuko Mbutho (South Africa), Siyabonga Mkhize (South Africa), Martin Williams (Seychelles), Naif Yakl (Saudi Arabia)

Own goals – Yassir Abada (Morocco), Martin Biliati (Malawi), Sandram Ussi (Malawi)

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!

Latest News