Miller, Looser reign supreme

Alex Miller in action. File photo

Namibian Olympians Alex Miller and Vera Looser were crowned the Nedbank Namibia National XCM MTB Marathon champions on Saturday when they won the elite male and female categories at the IJG Trails at Farm Windhoek on Saturday. 

Miller was a comfortable winner of the men’s race over 60km, crossing the line in two hours 16 minutes 31 seconds, finishing nearly 14 minutes ahead of Xavier Papo (2:30:27), while Simon Kaita came third in 2:32:32. 

They were followed by Danzel de Koe (2:42:29), Marc Epler (2:43:36) and Marco Augustyn (2:54:30). 

Looser also comfortably won the elite women’s race over 60km in a time of 2:45:12, with Anri Krugel-Greeff coming second in 2:50:53 and Nicola Fester third in 2:56:24. 

Petrus Human won the men’s sub veteran’s category in 2:31:03, followed by Andre Vermeulen (2:41:48) and Michael Falk (2:42:17), while Mimi Hough won the women’s sub veteran category in 3:21:04, followed by Jean Marie Mostert in 2:59:59. 

Vernon Maresch won the veteran men’s category in 2:31:03, followed by Marc Bassinghtwaighte (2:36:23) and Phillip Steyn (2:39:10), while Irene Steyn won the veteran women’s category in 3:02:53. 

Hans du Toit won the master men’s category in 2:34:06, followed by Piet Swiegers in 2:42:36, and Stefan Bohlke (2:43:13), while Eckhard Waldschmidt won the grandmaster men’s category in 3:11:02, followed by Jens Adam (3:24:35) and Roland Graf (3:31:48). 

Elanor Grassow won the master women’s category in 3:19:15, while Carolin Janikwon the grand master women’s category over 30km in 2:21:12. 

Tere were also several events over the 30km half marathon distance. 

Konny Looser won the open men’s category in 1:23:01, followed by Christopher du Plessis (1:46:46), whie Kevin Lowe won the junior men’s category in 1:22:42, followed by Theuns van der Westhuizen (1:24:01) and Adrian Key (1:25:52); and Eden Spangenberg won the junior women’s category in 2:15:50.

Roger Suren won the youth boys u16 category in 1:22:27, followed by Marco Thiel (1:24:00) and Sean Lowe (1:25:53), while Delsia Janse van Vuuren won the youth girls u16 category in 1:39;40, followed by Rosemarie Thiel (1:40:30) and Kylie Dickerson (1:54:57). 

Julius Braun won the sub junior boys u14 category in 1:28:16, followed by Theodor Janse van Vuuren (1:37:59) and Mike Baartman (1:40:37), while Anne Cramer won the sub junior girls u14 category in 1:52:41, followed by Nicole Suren(2:05:57). 

Micah Chase won the sprog boys u12 category in 1:34:41, followed by JP Lambert (2:09:26) and Sion Liebenberg (2:10:06), while Qara Volscenk won the sprog girls u12 category in 2:11:01. 

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!

Latest News