Go-karting season ends on high note

As the motorsport year slowly draws to an end, the final and last go-karting race for the 2023 season took place earlier this month at the Tony Rust Raceway.

And by the looks of the amount of entrants it can be described as a success with good competition and fierce racing.

Cecil Koorts from Cema Racing after the event said everything from the marketing of the event to the drop of the chequered flag ran smoothly.

At least 40 entrants in eight different classes took part in various categories, ranging from the Bambino class to senior max racing in three heats throughout the day.

“From my side I want to thank the clerk of the course (COC), Richard Slamet. He knows how to be a COC on karting and other motor sport as well,” Koorts said.

He thanked the teams of Rotex and Rok for putting in the time and effort to showcase their skills on the racetracks.

Cema Racing and Engen Jan Jonker Service Station concurred that it was an excellent day.

“I want to thank those who were there, as it was a competitive race day among all the different classes,” Koorts said.

The results of Saturday’s race for the Namibia National Championship Karting Leg 8 ar eas follows:

Bambino: First, Ned Hannam, second, Mila Botha, and third place Miko Botha.

Kid Rok: First Kristopher Koudelka, second Hermann Schouw, and in third place Petrus du Plooy.

Mini Rok: Cecil Koorts in first place, Kirsten Koudelke in second place, and Markus Koudelka in third place.

Mini Max: Paul Oosthuizen in first place, Mick Goldbeck in second place, and Jan-Hendrik Coetzee in third place.

Micro Max: First Nande Kaiyamo, second Malan Coetzee, and in third place Mandume Kaiyamo.

DD2: First place Justus Beulker, second Ivan Vorster, and Zain Beuthin in third place.

Senior Max: First place Kobus Reyneke, second Chucky van Dyk, and Kian Fussel in third place.

DD2 Master: Mark Villinger

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!

Latest News