Cohen FC stretch their lead 

Wilko Hoffmann in action for Cohen Fistball Club. Photo: contributed

Cohen Fistball Club stretched their lead in the National A League, while SKW 4 lead the National B League following the second round of league  action last weekend. 

The u12 and u15 youth categories started on Friday evening. The tournament, which was partially interrupted by heavy rain, was won by SKW A with four wins in the u15 category. In the u12 category SKW B emerged victorious with Robert von Flotow named as the player of the day.

SFC A and SKW A won both their two matches in the u18 league to go to the top of the log on 10 points each, while SKW C and SKW B are tied for third place. SKW D are bottom of the log after losing all their matches to date. 

In the National A League, CFC 1 kept a clean slate on their home turf and won all four their matches without dropping a set. Exciting matches were offered to the spectators by the rest of the teams. After the first win in more than two decades in the fourth league round last year, SFC 1 repeated the feat with a 3-1 win over SKW 1. SFC 1 also beat SKW 2 and SFC 2 to collect a total of nine points on the day. 

CFC 2, who beat SFC 2 and SKW 2, also came to within a whisker of beating SKW 1, before losing a close five-setter 3-2. CFC 1 now lead the A League with 24 points, followed by SKW 1 on 17, SFC 1 (16), CFC 2 (11), SKW 2 (11) and SFC 2 (2). 

In the National League B, CFC 3 was unable to match their performance of the first league round and lost all four their matches. SKW 4 took advantage of this opportunity by having all battles decided in their favour. SKW 4 now lead the log with 23 points – four points ahead of their colleagues SKW 5, who won three of their four matches. Behind them are SKW 3, CFC 3 and SKW 6 who are all on 14 points, folllowed by SFC 3 on 11 and SKW 7 on two points.

Tim Lux from SKW was chosen as the youth player of the day, while Arne Roesener from CFC 2 received the adult player of the day trophy. 

In the evening, the women’s national team was announced by national coach Olaf Beiter, which will take part in the Fistball World Championship in Argentina in November. The following players were chosen: Kirsten van Biljon (CFC), Anika Lübbert (SFC), Nadja Schatz, Claudia Schlettwein, Sabine Hancock, Dietlind Förster (all SKW) and Sylvia Schulz (BR Beringen – Switzerland). 

Furthermore, the national u18 men’s squad was reduced to 13 players. Together with the national coaches, the female u18 youth decided against taking part in the World Cup in Chile, due to a young average age, a financial burden and a lack of commitment.

Next on the fistball calendar is the indoor tournament on 18 May in Swakopmund.

Stay informed with The Namibian – your source for credible journalism. Get in-depth reporting and opinions for only N$85 a month. Invest in journalism, invest in democracy –
Subscribe Now!

Latest News